Review: Searching…

Release Date: August 31st, 2018 Cast: John Cho, Debra Messing, Michelle La, Sara Sohn Director: Aneesh Chaganty Studio: Bazelevs Company, Stage 6 Films Distributor: Screen Gems Spoilers: None IMDB | Rotten Tomatoes | Wikipedia Searching is the hypermodern tale of a missing daughter and the tools a father to find her. But first, he needs to learn who […]

The Girl on The Train and Her Ex Husband and His New Wife and Their Neighbors

Release Date: October 7, 2016 Cast: Emily Blunt, Haley Bennett, Rebecca Ferguson, Justin Theroux, Luke Evans, Edgar Ramirez Director: Tate Taylor Studio: DreamWorks Pictures, Reliance Entertainment, Marc Platt Productions Distributor: Universal Pictures Genre(s): Mystery Thriller Drama Review Spoilers: Low IMDB | Rotten Tomatoes | Wikipedia “Rachel Watson, an alcoholic who […]

Goldie Vance is on the Case in BOOM! Box’s Newest Series!

Goldie Vance #1 Author: Hope Lawson Artist: Brittney Williams Release Date: April 13, 2016 Publisher: BOOM! Boox Genre(s): All-Ages Mystery Rating: ★★★★☆ Review Spoilers:  High Set on a resort in the 1960s, Goldie Vance is a series featuring an all new heroine in the vein of Nancy Drew and Veronica Mars. The titular Goldie Vance is […]

“A Borrowed Man” Mixes Literature and Science Fiction For a Futuristic Mystery

A Borrowed Man Author: Gene Wolfe Release Date: October 20, 2015 Publisher: Tor Books Genre(s): Science Fiction, Mystery Rating: ★★★☆☆ Review Spoilers:  Mild GoodReads | Amazon A Borrowed Man has one of the most unique premises for a mystery novel that I’ve seen in quite a while. I’m honestly not the biggest fan of the genre so […]

Answers and Intrigue Guaranteed – No Questions Asked in ‘Mystery Girl #1’

Mystery Girl #1 Author: Paul Tobin Artists: Alberto J. Albuquerque Release Date: December 2, 2015 Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Genre(s): Mystery Rating: ★★★☆☆ Review Spoilers:  Moderate In a twist on the classic detective story, Trine Hampstead already has all of the answers to the mysteries – the catch is that no one can ask her […]

A is for Agitating- A Review of A is for Arsenic: The Poisons of Agatha Christie

Author: Kathryn Harkup Release Date: September 8, 2015 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Source: NetGalley Genre(s): nonfiction, mystery, reference Rating: ★★☆☆☆ Review Spoilers:  N/A GoodReads | Amazon This book’s intended audience is readers with a master’s degree or higher in organic chemistry or biochemistry. Without it, you’re probably going to be a very lost and […]

Lois Lane is the Real Hero in Gwenda Bond’s “Fallout”

Lois Lane: Fallout Author: Gwenda Bond Release Date: May 1, 2015 Publisher: Switch Press Genre(s): Media Tie-In, Young Adult, Superheroes, Mystery Rating: ★★★★★ Review Spoilers:  Low GoodReads | Amazon I’m going to admit something to you all up front here: I did not expect to like this book at all. I sincerely mean that. I did not […]

“Serafina and the Black Cloak” is an Endearing Middle Grade Mystery Full of Magic and Suspense

Serafina and the Black Cloak Author: Robert Beatty Release Date: July 14, 2015 Publisher: Disney Hyperion Genre(s): Middle Grade, Mystery, Fantasy, Historical Fiction Rating: ★★★★☆ Review Spoilers: Low GoodReads | Amazon We don’t review many middle grade books on Nerdophiles so when we do you can be sure that they are basically going to be awesome. […]