Before Five Points Festival came into being there was a yearly event called the Designer Toy Awards (DTAs). Sponsored by Clutter Magazine, these awards started in a hot San Diego bar during San Diego Comic Con and evolved over the years into the event it is today. With Five Points Festival slated to follow the awards night, this year’s DTAs were bigger than ever.

It was hosted at Webster Hall this year, MC’ed by Academy Award nominee Morgan Spurlock, and chock full of creators and collectors alike. We were lucky enough to be invited to the festivities to join the yearly celebration that creates a space for people involved with the designer toy industry. For attendees and winners, it was a night to be remembered and a lot to take in.

Below you will find the comprehensive list of winners in every category. Some were chosen by popular demand and others were chosen by a professional panel of toy enthusiasts. Many of them had products available in the days following at Five Points Festival.

The Winners

Best Blog (Fan Voted): The Toy Chronicle

Best Online Toy Store (Fan Voted): Rotofugi

Best Toy Store (Fan Voted): Playhouse

Best Licensed: Mondo Iron Giant by Mondo & Bigshot Toyworks

Best Mini Series: Gold Life by Huck Gee & Mighty Jaxx

Best DIY Platform: The Blank by Huck Gee

Custom of the Year (Fan Voted): B.F.U. BabyTEQ Armor by Quiccs

Best Non-Plastic: Omen fade wood by Coarse Toys

Brand of the Year: Mighty Jaxx

Hall of Fame: Brothersworker figures by Brothersfree

Hall of Fame: Dunces series by Gary Baseman

Hall of Fame: Fafi Girls by Fafi

Hall of Fame: MC Supersize by Ron English

Hall of Fame: To-Fu Oyako by Devilrobots

Lifetime Achievement: Tatsuhiko Akashi

Best Non-Licensed: Darth Trump by Time Bandits x Special Ed Toys

Custom of the Year: Luke & Tapistree by Gary Ham

Best Resin: The Astronaut by Alex Pardee & ToyQube

Best Sofubi: Bake Kujira by Candie Bolton

Best Vinyl & Plastic: Do Not Disturb by Coarse Toys

Break Through Artist: Candie Bolton

Toy of the Year (Fan Voted): Maguro by Mame Moyashi

Artist of the Year (Fan Voted): Juan Muniz

Toy of the Year: King Korpse by James Groman & Instinctoy

Artist of the Year: Jon-Paul Kaiser

At the end of the night everyone seemed happy to see their friends, colleagues, and favorite creators recognized for all of the hard work they do. Designer Toys are a unique industry and each creator brings something special to the process. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated, as well as those who took home the exclusive top prize. We’ll see you next year!

Leave a Reply